6 Feb 2017

Treaty of Waitangi to be published into 30 different languages

From , 6:01 am on 6 February 2017

New Zealand's historic founding document, the Treaty of Waitangi, is to be published into 30 different languages including two from the Pacific.

Both the Maori and English versions of the treaty have been translated into the 30 languages and also New Zealand's sign language by the New Zealand Society of Translators and Interpreters.

Around 150 translators and reviewers worked on the translations which will be published in a book called 'Treaty Times Thirty' and gifted to the New Zealand public at the end of this month.

The project's spokesperson, Stefan Grand-Meyer says the aim of the book was to make the treaty more accessible to immigrants and encourage a better understanding of it internationally.

He spoke to Indira Stewart.

Treaty of Waitangi

Treaty of Waitangi Photo: RNZ / Aaron Smale