23 May 2019

Kings, Tomorrow People and SWIDT among winners at the 2019 Pacific Music Awards


The Pacific music industry was in full celebration tonight, at the 15th annual Pacific Music Awards, where Her Majesty Queen Sālote Tupou lll was posthumously honoured with the Lifetime Achievement Award.

The 15th annual Pacific Music Awards took place at Manukau’s Vodafone Event Centre, with performances including a special tribute to Queen Sālote, as well as appearances by Adeaze, Melodownz, Razé, Punialava’a and Tomorrow People. 

Skip to full list of winners.

Reggae group Tomorrow People, and producer, rapper and singer Kings, were the biggest winners on the night, taking home four awards each, adding to their previous PMA hauls.

Her Majesty Queen Sālote Tupou lll, Tonga’s longest-ruling Monarch, was recognised with the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Queen Sālote was a celebrated writer of poetry and song, composing over one hundred songs, lullabies and laments. She ruled Tonga for 48 years until she died in 1965.

Kings took home Best Pacific Male Artist, Best Pacific Song, Most Streamed Song, and Best Producer alongside his co-producer 10A for Kings’ album Lov3 & 3go.

Tomorrow People picked up Best Pacific Music Album, Best Pacific Roots/Reggae Artist, and Best Pacific Group following the release of their 2018 EP BBQ Reggae. They also received the coveted People’s Choice Award.

Dancer turned singer and songwriter Razé took home Best Pacific Female Artist and Best Pacific Soul/RnB Artist for her single ‘Not About You’.

The brother duo Adeaze won Best Pacific Gospel Artist for their latest album A Mother’s Love, released to pay tribute to their late mother. The pair had their first appearance at the Pacific Music Awards back in 2005 when they scooped Best Pacific Group for their debut album Always and for Real.

Onehunga hip hop group SWIDT picked up Best Pacific Hip Hop Artist for their EP The Most Electrifying.

Rapper Melodownz received this year’s Phillip Fuemana Award for Most Promising Pacific Artist. After releasing his debut EP in 2017, he’s been steadily building a name for himself both locally and internationally – opening for acts including YG, Joey Bada$$ and Raekwon of Wu-Tang fame.

At the end of last year, he released a double EP with fellow rapper Raiza Biza and producer Illbaz, under the moniker High Beams.

Hailing from the Solomon Islands, Jaro Local received the award for Best International Pacific Artist. He also performed at the ceremony, showcasing his international hit song ‘Dakini Tangarareh’.

Hamilton-raised producer Villette won Best Pacific Music Video, for her unique 360-degree virtual reality vid, ‘Money’.

Samoan group Punialava’a – last year’s Lifetime Achievement recipients – took home the Pacific Language award this year. The Radio Airplay Award went to General Fiyah ft. Three Houses Down with their song ‘Here to Stay’.

Performances on the night included a special tribute performance for Queen Sālote, as well as appearances by Adeaze, Poetik, Melodownz, Razé, Punialava’a, Jaro Local and Tomorrow People.

The evening closed with a massive medley performance paying tribute to 15 years of the Pacific Music Awards.

Chairman and spokesperson of the awards, Rev. Mua Strickson-Pua says: “The 15th celebration of the Pacific Music Awards speaks of past achievements but, just as important, the future.

“Tonight, we [are] … mindful of the rangatahi/auatalavou (young people) who are our new finalists; the Wahine Toa (strong and powerful Pacific women) … and the taonga (treasures) of our Pacific languages. We have been blessed indeed."

Full list of 2019 Pacific Music Awards Winners:

Auckland Council Best Pacific Female Artist Award:

  • WINNER: Razé - ‘Not About You’
  • La Coco - ‘Waiting’
  • Tree - ‘Can We’
  • Villette - ‘Money’

NZ Music Commission Best Pacific Male Artist Award:

  • WINNER: Kings - Lov3 & 3go
  • Melodownz - Melo & Blues
  • Sonatane Kaufusi - ‘Birdie’

PMN Best Pacific Group Award:

  • WINNER: Tomorrow People - BBQ Reggae
  • Adeaze - A Mother's Love
  • SWIDT - The Most Electrifying

PMN Best Pacific Gospel Artist Award:

  • WINNER: Adeaze - A Mother's Love
  • Punialava’a - Yesterday, Today & Tomorrow O ananafi, O nei ma Taeao
  • Revere - Revere

Base FM NZ & Island Base FM Samoa Best Pacific Hip Hop Artist Award:

  • WINNER: SWIDT - The Most Electrifying
  • Kings - Lov3 & 3go

Best Pacific Soul/RnB Artist Award:

  • WINNER: Razé - ‘Not About You’
  • La Coco - ‘Waiting’
  • Villette - ‘Not in Love’

Pato Entertainment Best Pacific Roots/Reggae Artist:

  • WINNER: Tomorrow People - BBQ Reggae
  • Lapi Mariner - ‘Go Back’
  • Runtingz Family - ‘Runtingz Anthem’

Flava Best International Pacific Artist Award:

  • WINNER: Jaro Local - Dakini Tangarareh
  • Bobby Alu - ‘Move’
  • Kaiit - Live From Her Room EP

SIT/MAINZ Best Producer Award:

  • WINNER: Kings & 10A - Lov3 & 3go
  • SmokeyGotBeatz - The Most Electrifying, SWIDT
  • Baccyard  - Melo & Blues, Melodownz

NZ On Air Best Pacific Music Video:

  • WINNER: Villette ‘Money’ - Directed by Parker Howell, Baron VR
  • Razé X Edy - ‘Not About You’, Directed by Kiel Tutin & Edward Liu
  • Sonatane Kaufusi - ‘Birdie’ , Directed by: Dave Thomson, Imaginary Friends
  • SWIDT - ‘Who Run It’  Directed by 10Daniel16

APRA Best Pacific Song:

  • WINNER: Kings - ‘6 Figures’ Written by Kingdon Chapple-Wilson
  • Church & AP - ‘Ready or Not’ Written by Elijah Manu, Albert Purcell
  • Punialava’a ‘Ana le Seanoa’oe’- written by Rev. Iosefa Lale Peteru

SunPix Best Pacific Language:

  • WINNER: Punialava’a Yesterday, Today & Tomorrow O ananafi, O nei ma Taeao
  • Adeaze A Mother's Love
  • Sammy Atoa 'Samoa Finau’

Recorded Music NZ Best Pacific Music Album Award:

  • WINNER: Tomorrow People - BBQ Reggae
  • Kings - Lov3 & 3go
  • SWIDT - The Most Electrifying

Phillip Fuemana Most Promising Pacific Artist:

  • WINNER: Melodownz

NZ On Air Radio Airplay Award:

  • WINNER: General Fiyah feat Three Houses Down - ‘Here To Stay’:

NZ On Air Streaming Award:

  • WINNER: Kings – ‘Don’t Worry About It’

SunPix People’s Choice Award for Best Pacific Artist:

  • WINNER: Tomorrow People

Manukau Institute of Technology Lifetime Achievement Award:

  •  WINNER: Her Majesty Queen Sālote Tupou lll