16 Jun 2014

Solomons provinces qualify for development funds

4:07 pm on 16 June 2014

Six out of nine Solomon Islands' provinces have now met the conditions that allow them to access over four million US dollars of development funds.

The Solomon Islands government says Choiseul, Western, Isabel, Makira-Ulawa, Temotu and Central provinces have qualified through an independent assessment.

Malaita, Rennell and Bellona and Guadalcanal Provinces could not meet the seven minimum conditions in the performance assessment.

The government says those provinces will have support in the form of capacity building in order to improve their financial management capabilities through training and mentoring.

The next assessment, which will determine fund allocation for next year, is due to be completed by July.