10 May 2004

American Samoa repeats demands for territory to be removed from UN de-colonisation list

11:07 am on 10 May 2004

A United Nations Pacific Regional Seminar later this month will review the progress made by non self governing territories in the Pacific towards self determination.

The Pacific islands on the UN list of non-self-governing territories are New Caledonia, Guam, Pitcairn, American Samoa and Tokelau.

The United Nations is inviting leaders of the islands, or their representatives, to attend the meeting in Madang in, Papua New Guinea on May the eighteenth.

The American Samoa member of the US Congress, Faleomavaega Eni Hunkin, has accused the UN Committee in charge of non-self-governing territories of being biased.

He says the committee uses American Samoa to further its criticisms of the US.

"Year after year the governor and I have tried to explain that we are not colonies. We have a very special and unique relationship between the United States and Tutuila and Manu'a and we want to preserve this relationship."