8 May 2017

Review: NZSO delights with Farr and Adams

From Upbeat, 1:20 pm on 8 May 2017
Sebastien Hurtaud

Sebastien Hurtaud Photo: Laurent Campguilhem

The New Zealand Symphony Orchestra delivered a concert of contemporary music this past weekend with its Aotearoa Plus concerts in Wellington and Auckland.

The programme featured works by Pierre Boulez and John Adams plus the world premiere of Gareth Farr’s new Cello Concerto Chemin des Dames with soloist Sébastien Hurtaud.

Reviewer Rachel Hyde discusses the place of contemporary music in the orchestra’s repertoire, how 100 musicians work together on this most demanding music, and how Gareth Farr’s music has matured.