1 Jan 2009

Samuel HOLLOWAY: Stapes

From Resound, 12:00 pm on 1 January 2009

This audio is not downloadable due to copyright restrictions.

Performed by NZTrio, comprising violinist Justine Cormack, cellist Ashley Brown and pianist Sarah Watkins.

Samuel Holloway’s ‘Stapes’ is the first in his series of ‘Middle Ear’ works (the other two are ‘Malleus’ and ‘Incus’). In the work, “the players work both together and against each other, in individual and collective struggles for articulacy.”

‘Stapes’ was performed at the atrium of the Auckland Art Gallery as part of NZTrio’s ‘tectonic uprising’ concert.

Get the RNZ app

for easy access to all your favourite programmes