30 Jul 2021

Louis Baker & the APO

From Music Alive, 8:00 pm on 30 July 2021

Each season the APO teams up with a New Zealand pop music artist for a crossover concert. This time it's with neo-soul musician Louis Baker.

With an astute ear for lyrical detail, a rich vocal tone that harks back to classic Motown soul, and a direct and expressive guitar style, Louis Baker has generated over 20 million Spotify streams and gathered a loyal global following. He regularly sells out shows in New Zealand and London, has performed on the European festival circuit, and opened for a number of international artists such as Fat Freddys’ Drop, Allen Stone, Jordan Rakei and Morcheba.

In 2019, Baker was nominated at the Taite Music Prize for Best Album, and at the Aotearoa Music Awards for Best Soul and Best Māori Artist.

For this concert he brought his band with him, which is arrayed around him in a semi-circle. Members of the band are:

  • Daniel Hayles - keyboards 
  • Marika Hodgson - electric bass 
  • Corey Champion - drums 
  • Esther Stephens and Laughton Kora - backing singers.
  • Nathan Haines - flute (Love Levitates)
  • Louis Baker - vocals and guitar.

And then there's the whole orchestra of 64 players wrapped around the band!

The Auckland Town Hall stage is packed to the brim. They’re all conducted by Hamish McKeich.

Composer and arranger Mahuia Bridgman-Cooper worked alongside Baker to reimagine his music into lush orchestral arrangements.


  • Heavy Stone
  • Alive
  • Birds
  • Addict
  • Black Crow
  • Brighter Day
  • Purple Rain (Prince cover)
  • So Lo
  • Just A Memory
  • Love Levitates
  • Rainbow
  • The People

Recorded on 11 February 2021 in Auckland Town Hall by RNZ

Producer & Mix Engineer: Adrian Hollay

Recording Engineers: Andre Upston, Blair Stagpoole

Louis Baker and the Auckland Philharmonia Orchestra at the Auckland Town Hall.

Louis Baker and the Auckland Philharmonia Orchestra at the Auckland Town Hall. Photo: Rachel Webb

Get the RNZ app

for easy access to all your favourite programmes