28 Oct 2020

VIDEO: NZSO - Stravinsky & Cassadó

From Music Alive, 7:30 pm on 28 October 2020

7:30 pm New Zealand conductor Gemma New leads the NZSO in a concert full of rhythm and dance.

Conductor: Gemma New

Cello: Andrew Joyce

Stravinsky Danses Concertantes

Stravinsky originally wrote Danses Concertantes for the concert hall, but it wouldn’t feel out of place as a ballet. The rhythms, syncopation and structure of the piece led to it being choreographed several times, first in 1944 by acclaimed choreographer and co-founder of the New York City Ballet, George Balanchine.

Cassadó Suite for Solo Cello III. ‘Intermezzo e danza finale. Lento ma non troppo - Allegro marcato’

NZSO Section Principal Cellist Andrew Joyce performs Cassadó Suite for Solo Cello. The work is a collection of dances, representing the three important cultural regions of Spain. The ‘Intermezzo e danza finale’ imitates the snap of castanets, the strumming of the guitar, Spanish folk music and is the most playful, dancelike of the suite. in the distinctive pattern of the four-note descending bass line.

Sound by RNZ Concert, Video by Latitude Creative.