The NewBop Quintet led by Frank Gibson explores the “hard bop” repertoire of the 1950s and 60s, taking a fresh look at it and adding in some original tunes inspired by the era.

The New Bop Quintet is Frank Gibson Jr (drums), Mike Booth (tpt), Pete France (sax), Kevin Field (pno), Cameron McArthur (bass).

A concert presented by CJC, the Creative Jazz Club Aotearoa at Anthology Bar, Auckland, September 2020.

Music Details

SHORTER: Speak No Evil
GIBSON Jr, Frank: Beaver Fever
GOLSON, Benny: Along Came Betty
GORDON, Dexter: Soy Califa
CARTHUR, Cameron: Three Up, Three Down
GOLSON, Benny: Stablemates
MONK: Straight No Chaser
KAPER/WASHINGTON: On Green Dolphin Street
BOOTH, Mike: Inner Secret
BOOTH, Mike: Lockdown

Recorded by RNZ Concert, Anthology Bar, Auckland, 30 September 2020
Producer: Tim Dodd; Sound Engineer: Adrian Hollay