8.00 APO LIVE: Poetry & Passion

Leonie Holmes

Leonie Holmes Photo: Gareth Watkins / Lilburn Trust / Wallace Arts Trust


Leonie HOLMES: For just a little moment... (première);

SCHUMANN: Piano Concerto in A minor Op 54;

TCHAIKOVSKY: Symphony No 4 in F minor Op 36

Michael Endres (piano), Auckland Philharmonia Orchestra conducted by Giordano Bellincampi

Tchaikovsky’s Fourth Symphony opens with a stark fanfare which, Tchaikovsky said, represented ‘Fate, that ominous power’, adding ‘There is no alternative but to submit to Fate’. His friend and patron, Mme von Meck, heard ‘profound, terrifying despair’ in this music. True, but it has also passion, drama and ultimately catharsis.

NZ-based German pianist Michael Endres joins the APO with Schumann’s ineffably poetic concerto, and to open the concert, a new work from the multifaceted Auckland composer, and former APO composer-in-residence, Leonie Holmes.

Direct broadcast and livestream from Auckland Town Hall by RNZ Concert