Monday, 4 November 2019
New Zealand Symphony Orchestra - Te Māpouriki

A concert taking its title from the new work by Kenneth Young commemorating the 250th anniversary of Captain James Cook's landing at Tūranga-nui-a-Kiwa.

No caption

Photo: Dudley Meadows, Tairāwhiti Museum Te Whare Taonga o te Tairāwhiti

Several pieces in this programme touch on themes of being away from home, of travel, and of exploration, and the concert takes its title from the opening piece in the programme, Te Māpouriki, or “Dusk”.

The conductor is Jun Märkl, who studied under Leonard Bernstein and who’s an expert in German symphonic and operatic repertoire, and in the French impressionist composers, having among his more than 50 recordings a set of Debussy’s complete orchestral works.

The soloist in the horn concerto by Strauss is the NZSO's Principal Horn, Samuel Jacobs.


Kenneth YOUNG: Te Māpouriki
MOZART: Symphony No 31 in D K297, Paris
STRAUSS: Horn Concerto No 1 in E flat Op 11
ROSSINI: Le rendezvous de chasse (encore)
MENDELSSOHN: Calm Sea & Prosperous Voyage, Overture
SCHUMANN: Symphony No 1 in B flat Op 38, Spring

Recorded by RNZ in Auckland Town Hall, 18 October 2019
Producer: Tim Dodd; Engineer: Adrian Hollay