29 Mar 2015

Mozart's sacred music

From Composer of the Week, 9:00 am on 29 March 2015

Sacred Music of Mozart
The young Mozart playing the organ for the first time in September 1762 in the Franciscan church in Ybbs, Lower Austria (detail). Heinrich Lossow (1840–1897).

Indra Hughes recounts the fascinating stories behind Mozart’s sacred music, which is nearly all concentrated at the beginning of his life and career, and at the end, with the Requiem and the unfinished Mass in C minor.

Music Details:

Requiem Lacrimosa – Chapelle Royale/Herreweghe (Harmonia Mundi HMC 901620)

Epistle Sonata in C K278 – Kings Consort/King (Hyperion CDH55314)

Kyrie K259 – Kolner Kammerchor/Neumann (EMI CDC 754037)

Sanctus K194 – St Albans Cathedral/Lucas (Naxos 8.573092)

Sanctus K275 – St Albans Cathedral/Lucas (Naxos 8.573092)

Agnus Dei K317 – Handel and Haydn Soc/Christophers (CORO COR16104)

Et incarnatus est K427 – Gabrieli Consort/McCreesh (Archiv 477 5744)

Alleluia K108 – Sampson/King/Kings Consort (Hyperion CDA 67560)

More about Mozart: