David Warner batting for Australia.

David Warner batting for Australia. Photo: PHOTOSPORT

No nation is more synonymous with the Cricket World Cup than Australia.

The joint hosts for 2015 are the most successful team in the tournament's history, winning four times in total in 1987, 1999, 2003 and 2007.

Between 1996 and 2007, Australia became the only team to appear in four consecutive finals and won 34 consecutive World Cup matches until they were eventually defeated by Pakistan in the 2011 semifinals.

Australia enter this year's tournament as the number one ranked side and will be the favourites to lift the trophy for the fifth time at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on March 29.

Much of their strength lies in their pace bowling attack, with Mitchell Johnson, Mitchell Starc and James Faulkner likely to strike fear into the hearts of their opposition, bowling on pace-friendly Australian pitches.

Australia headline pool A and will play the majority of their matches in front of a home crowd, but may face a hostile reception when they play New Zealand at Eden Park on March 28.

Key players: Batsman Steve Smith, fast bowler Mitchell Johnson, opening batsman David Warner.

Australia: Michael Clarke (captain), George Bailey (vc), David Warner, Aaron Finch, Shane Watson, Steven Smith, Brad Haddin (wicket-keeper), Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Marsh, James Faulkner, Mitchell Johnson, Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, Pat Cummins, Xavier Doherty.

February 14th: Australia vs England, Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne.
February 21st: Australia vs Bangladesh, The Gabba, Brisbane.
February 28th: Australia vs New Zealand, Eden Park, Auckland.
March 4th: Australia vs Afghanistan, WACA, Perth.
March 8th: Australia vs Sri Lanka, Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney.
March 14th: Australia vs Scotland, Bellerive Oval, Hobart.