3 Apr 2011

Cricket World Cup won by India

6:11 am on 3 April 2011

India beat Sri Lanka by six wickets in the Cricket World Cup final in Mumbai on Saturday.

They are the first Asian team to win the title twice.

India previously won the tournament in 1983. Sri Lanka won it in 1996.

Sri Lanka won the toss and batted first, scoring 274 for six.

Mahela Jayawardene made 103 (not out).

India's openers Virender Sehwag (0) and Sachin Tendulkar (18) both fell cheaply to fast bowler Lasith Malinga.

However, Gautam Gambhir made 97 to put India within sight of victory after being dropped on 30 and nearly run out on 49.

Skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni made 91 (not out) and Yuvraj Singh finished the job with 21 (not out).

They reached the target in the 49th over. Dhoni hit a six to win the match with 10 balls remaining as his side reached 277 for 4.

Dhoni was declared man of the match and Singh man of the tournament.