24 Sep 2010

UK Labour leadership vote now over

3:32 pm on 24 September 2010

Voting has ended in a leadership contest in the British Labour Party, with the result to be announced at the party's annual conference on Saturday.

Former ministers David and Ed Miliband, Ed Balls and Andy Burnham and backbencher Diane Abbott are vying to be leader.

Polls suggest it could be too close to call between David and Ed Miliband.

The BBC reports a complex voting system and the redistribution of second-preference votes makes an accurate prediction of the result very difficult.

About three million people, Labour MPs, MEPs, party members and members of affiliated organisations, are entitled to vote.