16 Sep 2010

Elections in Tuvalu

9:05 am on 16 September 2010

Voters in Tuvalu go to the polls on Thursday to elect a new 15-member parliament, for a four-year term.

Twenty six candidates, including all the sitting MPs, are contesting the poll.

Polling stations are open from 8am - 4pm. Results are expected to start arriving in the capital, Funafuti, from early evening.

Government secretary Panapasi Nelesoni says it is hoped the final results will be in by midnight.

Tuvalu comprises nine islands.