16 Nov 2012

Eight countries warned over illegal fishing

8:05 pm on 16 November 2012

The European Commission has warned eight countries they will face penalties if they don't stop illegal fishing.

The commission says the practices undermine the livelihood of fishing communities and deplete fish stocks.

It says Belize, Cambodia, Fiji, Guinea, Panama, Sri Lanka, Togo and Vanuatu have been given a timetable for compliance.