7 Oct 2012

Daylight saving begins in most states

9:23 am on 7 October 2012

Half of Australia turned their clocks forward by an hour for the start of daylight saving time on Sunday.

New South Wales, Victoria, South Australia, Tasmania and the ACT moved on to daylight saving at 2am local time.

But Queensland, Western Australia and the Northern Territory remain on standard time.

New Zealand switched to daylight saving on 30 September.

Britain moves off summer time on 28 October.