27 Feb 2012

Volcanic cones closer to coming back to tribes

7:03 am on 27 February 2012

A deed of settlement covering 15 volcanic cones in Auckland is due to be initialled by tribes and the Crown next month.

The maunga - including One Tree Hill - are due to be co-managed by Auckland Council and a group of 13 iwi and hapu, known as the Tamaki Collective.

However, the council hasn't yet decided if one of the cones, Maungauika or North Head, will be part of the co-governance agreement.

Next month's initialling of the deed is another step towards fully resolving the Tamaki Collective's Treaty of Waitangi claim.

The Tamaki Collective is made up of: Ngai Tai ki Tamaki, Ngati Maru, Ngati Paoa, Ngati Tamaoho, Ngati Tamatera, Ngati Te Ata, Ngati Whanaunga, Ngati Whatua o Kaipara, Ngati Whatua o Orakei, Te Akitai, Te Kawerau-a-Maki, Te Patukirikiri and Te Runanga o Ngati Whatua.