15 Feb 2012

Accountability expected of new board says new Te Arataura member

6:33 am on 15 February 2012

A new member of Te Arataura (Waikato-Tainui) executive says the iwi and hapu want accountability from the new committee. Nine of ten members were elected at the weekend.

Rahui Papa, Kingi Porima, Rukumoana Schaafhausen, Sonny Wilson and Paki Rawiri have retained their seats.

The newcomers for the next three-year term are Hemi Rau, Marae Tukere, Tipa Mahuta and Tom Roa.

Former tribal parliament chief executive Hemi Rau says, from the election, it appears the people wanted a change in governance.

He says they expect accountability and the opportunity to have an input in tribal affairs.