8 Nov 2011

Iwi will improve care of volcanic cones - Tamaki Collective

7:29 pm on 8 November 2011

The 13 Auckland tribes that make up the Tamaki Collective say the public will notice an increase in the care of 15 volcanic cones once they are returned to Maori.

The Tamaki Collective has stepped up negotiations with the Crown and secured another four conical hills, on top on the 11 already earmarked for iwi ownership.

Ōwairaka or Mount Albert, Rarotonga or Mount Smart, North Head Historic Reserve, and Wiri Historic Reserve will be added to the list.

Tamaki Collective chairman Paul Majury says following the Crown settlement there will be an integrated and coherent governance of the sites, through iwi working with Auckland Council.

He says iwi will sign a Deed of Settlement early next year, which will fully resolve the collective's Treaty claim.

The Tamaki Collective is made up of: Ngai Tai ki Tamaki, Ngati Maru, Ngati Paoa, Ngati Tamaoho, Ngati Tamatera, Ngati Te Ata, Ngati Whanaunga, Ngati Whatua o Kaipara, Ngati Whatua o Orakei, Te Akitai, Te Kawerau-a-Maki, Te Patukirikiri and Te Runanga o Ngati Whatua.