4 Mar 2014

Labour delays naming candidate

7:41 pm on 4 March 2014

The Labour Party has pushed back the closing date for candidate nominations for Tamaki Makaurau but says it isn't buying time for any particular person.

The deadline for nominations for the Maori electorate and a dozen others has been extended to March 28.

Labour Party general secretary Tim Barnett said it had taken a standard approach to extend the deadline to either look for more candidates, or talk to more people.

However, it was not trying to convince a specific person to stand in Tamaki Makaurau.

Mr Barnett told reporters the party was not awaiting an investigation into Shane Taurima, who resigned from Television New Zealand in February when it was revealed he had used his work premises for a Labour Party hui.

He said he had not spoken to Mr Taurima recently, and would not say which nominations have come in yet.

The Labour incumbents for Te Tai Tonga, Ikaroa-Rawhiti and Hauraki-Waikato will contest their seats in this year's election, while Kelvin Davis will again contest Te Tai Tokerau after being runner up to Mana Party leader Hone Harawira in 2011.

New to the party is Adrian Rurawhe, who will stand in Te Tai Hauauru, while the competition for Labour's Waiariki nomination is between Katie Paul, Ryan Te Wara and Rawiri Waititi.

Labour MP Shane Jones is standing a general seat, in Northland.