24 Aug 2011

Two New Zealanders in England squad

6:37 am on 24 August 2011

England's Rugby World Cup squad includes two New Zealanders, Shontayne Hape and Dylan Hartley, but a third is the highest profile omission.

Ricki Flutey is a a casualty of England's decision to take three halfbacks and five props and use the likes of Matt Banahan, Mike Tindall and Toby Flood to cover at second-five.

England's manager Martin Johnson has confirmed Lewis Moody as captain, despite concerns over the flanker's knee injury.

Moody is unlikely to figure in England's final warm-up match against Ireland in Dublin on Sunday but Johnson is confident he will be fit for his side's first World Cup match in New Zealand, against Argentina on September 10.

Squad: Forwards (17): Dan Cole, Alex Corbisiero,. Tom Croft, Louis Deacon, Nick Easter, Dylan Hartley, James Haskell, Courtney Lawes, Lee Mears Lewis Moody, Tom Palmer, Simon Shaw, Andrew Sheridan, Matt Stevens, Steve Thompson, David Wilson, Tom Wood. Backs (13): Delon Armitage, Chris Ashton , Matt Banahan , Mark Cueto, Toby Flood, Ben Foden, Shontayne Hape, Joe Simpson, Mike Tindall, Manu Tuilagi, Richard Wigglesworth , Jonny Wilkinson, Ben Youngs.