14 Mar 2011

Brisbane win thriller at Suncorp Stadium to claim A-league title

6:06 am on 14 March 2011

The Brisbane Roar have won their first ever A-league football title on penalties in dramatic fashion with last night's showdown in Queensland with Central Coast going down as one of the most thrilling grand finals in Australian sporting history.

The Roar's Erik Paartalu headed home a corner from the last play of extra-time for an equaliser which sent the game to penalties at a sold-out Suncorp Stadium.

Just four minutes earlier the premiers were 2-nil down against a resurgent Central Coast and staring the end of the record 27-match unbeaten streak in the face.

While Paartalu produced the pivotal moment of the match for the Roar it was Brisbane goalkeeper Michael Theoklitos who was the hero in the penalty shootout.

With the penalties also locked at 2-all, Theoklitos produced a brilliant diving save to the left to deny Daniel McBreen before then parrying Pedj Bojic's shot over the cross bar.

Theoklitos credited captain Matt McKay for inspiring the Roar at the extra-time break to cap their dream season with a fairytale finish.