31 Jan 2011

Raikuna to debut for Tietjens' men in Wellington Sevens

7:04 pm on 31 January 2011

New Zealand rugby sevens coach Gordon Tietjens has named his tournament team for this weekend's leg of the IRB series in Wellington.

Five members of the gold-medal winning Commonwealth Games side are in the team, which will again be captained by DJ Forbes, with one debutant, Counties Manukau's David Raikuna.

Another newcomer, Waikato's Rory Grice, has been bracketed with his provincial union team-mate Declan O'Donnell who has an ankle injury.

Grice will make his debut if O'Donnell doesn't recover.

New Zealand: Toby Arnold (Bay of Plenty), Tomasi Cama (Manawatu), Scott Curry (Bay of Plenty), DJ Forbes, captain (Counties Manukau), Frank Halai (Waikato), Bryce Heem (Auckland), Solomon King (Bay of Plenty), Tim Mikkelson (Waikato), Declan O'Donnell / Rory Grice (Waikato), Buxton Popoalii (Otago), Lote Raikubula (Manawatu), David Raikuna (Counties Manukau)