16 Jan 2011

Phelps wins again at Austin Grand Prix

6:56 pm on 16 January 2011

The 14-time Olympic champion Michael Phelps has won the 100-metre backstroke in 54.14 seconds - more than a second off his personal best - in the Austin Grand Prix in Texas.

Phelps edged emerging rival Ryan Lochte for the second straight night after winning the 100 butterfly. Nick Thoman was second and Lochte finished second.

Phelps was slated to race the "B" final in the 200 breaststroke, but dropped out as expected.

Missy Franklin, a 15-year-old rising star, won the 50 freestyle and 100 backstroke. In the backstroke, she recorded a personal-best of 59.75 seconds.