5 Dec 2010

Furyk wins Player of the Year award

3:26 pm on 5 December 2010

The American golfer Jim Furyk, who won three titles and the FedEx Cup playoff title, has been named the US PGA Tour Player of the Year for 2010.

Tour commissioner Tim Finchem announced the honour, which is decided by a vote of the tour's players, at the Tiger Woods-hosted World Challenge unofficial tournament.

It's a first Player of the Year award for the 40-year-old American, who won the Transitions Championship, the Heritage and the season-ending Tour Championship.

Furyk's three victories were more than any other player and he had seven top-10 finishes in 21 starts.

South African Ernie Els and Americans Dustin Johnson, Matt Kuchar and Masters champion Phil Mickelson were also in contention for the award.

Finalists were nominated by the player advisory council with players who made at least 15 starts eligible to vote on a winner.