20 Nov 2010

Hauritz dropped, Doherty, Smith in Ashes XIII

1:47 pm on 20 November 2010

The Australian cricket selectors have dumped Nathan Hauritz, naming uncapped fellow spinners Xavier Doherty and Steve Smith in a trimmed 13-man squad for next week's Ashes opener at the Gabba.

Hauritz paid the price for some modest recent form, with Tasmanian left-arm finger-spinner Doherty now looking a good chance to follow his recent one-day international debut with a Test debut against England at the Gabba, starting Thursday.

As well as naming two spinners in the 13, selectors also included four quicks - Mitchell Johnson, Ben Hilfenhaus, Peter Siddle and Doug Bollinger.

The batting line-up maintained the status quo, with vice-captain Michael Clarke named despite being rested from the Shield game with a back injury.