9 Oct 2010

South Africa win first T20 against Zimbabwe

10:53 am on 9 October 2010

The South Africa cricketers brushed aside a spirited challenge from Zimbabwe to win their Twenty20 international by seven wickets, with 25 balls to spare.

Zimbabwe's Hamilton Masakadza and Chamu Chibhabha led the tourists to a competitive total of 168 for four, before an opening stand of 90 in just seven overs between Graeme Smith and Loots Boman for South Africa effectively ended the contest.

South Africa suffered the briefest of wobbles when off-spinner Prosper Utseya claimed two quick wickets, but JP Duminy and David Miller calmly finished the job with an unbroken fourth wicket partnership of 70.

The second Twenty20 is scheduled for Kimberley on Monday, followed by three one-day internationals.