6 Oct 2010

Ponting, Watson, Johnson rested for ODIs

7:43 am on 6 October 2010

Australia's captain Ricky Ponting, allrounder Shane Watson and fast bowler Mitchell Johnson will be rested from the three one day matches that follow the current Test series against India.

They're arguably Australia's three most valuable players, and will fly home after the second Test at Bangalore to prepare for the Ashes series.

Michael Clarke will captain the team while Tim Paine retains the 'keeper's gloves.

The rest of the squad is: Cameron White, Doug Bollinger, Callum Ferguson, Nathan Hauritz, James Hopes, Mike Hussey, Shaun Marsh, Clint McKay, James Pattinson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, David Warner.