30 Dec 2008

NFL play-offs finalised

5:22 am on 30 December 2008

The Minnesota Vikings and Carolina Panthers grabbed division titles on last-second field goals on the concluding day of the NFL regular season.

Minnesota beat the New York Giants 20-19 to earn the Vikings the NFC North championship and a playoff spot, while Carolina wrapped up the NFC South title and the No. 2 NFC seed behind the playoff-bound Giants with a 33-31 triumph at New Orleans.

San Diego took Denver's place in the AFC picture after beating them 52-21.

In the NFC Philadelphia play Minnesota, Atlanta play Arizona, while New York and Carolina get first round byes.

In the AFC Miami play Baltimore, Indianapolis play San Diego and Tennessee and Pittsburgh have first round byes.

At the other end of proceedings, the Detroit Lions became the first NFL team to go 0 and 16 in a season when they lost 31-21 at Green Bay.