6 Dec 2008

New Zealand cricket selectors wield axe after Australia series

11:39 am on 6 December 2008

The New Zealand cricket selectors have wielded the axe after the miserable two nil Test series loss to Australia.

In naming a 12 man squad to face the West Indies in a two test home series the selectors have discarded top order batsmen, Aaron Redmond and Peter Fulton plus bowlers Chris Martin, Tim Southee and Kyle Mills.

Auckland batsman, Tim McIntosh, has earnt an elevation to Black Caps status and will replace Redmond at the top of the order while Jacob Oram, James Franklin, and Jeetan Patel have earnt recalls.

The squad for the two tests against the West Indies is:

Daniel Vettori (c)

Jamie How

Tim McIntosh

Daniel Flynn

Ross Taylor

Jesse Ryder

Jacob Oram

Brendon McCullum

James Franklin

Mark Gillespie

Iain O'Brien

Jeetan Patel