5 Nov 2008

New Zealand to send three hockey teams to Fiji

5:53 am on 5 November 2008

New Zealand will be represented by three teams, two men's and a women's side at the inaugural Pacific Cup Hockey tournament to be played in Suva, Fiji from November the 13th to 19th.

The Barbarians (NZ Maori) and New Zealand Indians will play in the men's draw while the New Zealand Maori will be the side to beat in the women's section.

Ten teams will play in the Pacific Cup with Fiji fielding two teams in the men's draw along with Australian Country.

In the women's division - Australia Country, Canberra Cameos and Fiji will battle it out against New Zealand Maori.

Games will be played on a round-robin format with the opening matches on Friday the 14th, semifinals play-offs will be on Tuesday 18th and the

medal play-off and final on Wednesday the 19th.