18 Aug 2010

Shortlist for European footballers of the year

6:46 pm on 18 August 2010

There are 12 names on the shortlist for the UEFA European Club Footballer of the Year award.

European champions Inter Milan have 5 players nominated while Spanish giants Barcelona have 4.

A total of 12 players have been shortlisted for both the positional awards and for the overall prize.

The UEFA Club Football Awards will be presented during the UEFA Champions League group stage draw in Monaco on August 26th.

The nominations are decided by the coaches of the 16 teams that reached the knockout stage of the Champions League. Each coach has the opportunity of voting for the individual positional prizes as well as to name their choice for UEFA Club Footballer of the Year 2010.

The nominees are....

Goalkeeper of the Year... Júlio César (FC Internazionale Milano), Hugo Lloris (Olympique Lyonnais) and Víctor Valdés (FC Barcelona).

Defender of the Year.... Lúcio (FC Internazionale Milano), Maicon (FC Internazionale Milano) and Gerard Piqué (FC Barcelona)

Midfielder of the Year.... Xavi Hernández (FC Barcelona), Arjen Robben (FC Bayern München) and Wesley Sneijder (FC Internazionale Milano).

Attacker of the Year.... Lionel Messi (FC Barcelona), Diego Milito (FC Internazionale Milano) and Wayne Rooney (Manchester United FC)