11 Sep 2017

Eight major winners in NZ Open field

3:40 pm on 11 September 2017

Eight major winners have been confirmed in the field for the New Zealand women's golf open in Auckland later this month.

The eight players, with 14 Major titles and more than $88 million in prizemoney between them, are among 90 players so far confirmed to contest the $1.85 million event at Windross Farm golf course.

Paula Creamer, Brittany Lincicome and Danielle Kang were part of the winning American Solheim Cup team.

The other major winners comprise Canada's Brooke Henderson, Korea's Na Yeon Choi, Taiwan's Yani Tseng, Scotand's Catriona Matthew and New Zealand's Lydia Ko.

Lydia Ko

Lydia Ko Photo: Photosport

Between them Tseng and Ko have dominated world golf in recent years having held the number one world ranking for more than four years between them.

Tseng was the youngest player either male or female, at 22 years, to win five majors - the US Women's PGA Championship twice, the Women's British Open twice and the ANA Inspiration.

Lincicome, 31, is a two-time Major winner and likely to be one of the most popular players at the tournament, on the back of her big hitting game, which has earned her the nickname of BamBam.

She won the Kraft Nabisco Championship in 2009 before it became the ANA Inspiration which she won in 2015.

Along the way she has won seven times on the LPGA including the opening event this year in the Bahamas.

Choi is another player with a remarkable record in the game, with her nine LPGA wins including the US Women's Open in 2012.

She won honours as leading money winner and the Vare Trophy for low scoring average in 2010.

Henderson, 19, already has four professional wins to her credit including her breakthrough victory when she beat Ko in a playoff to claim her first Major, the 2016 Women's PGA Championship.

Matthew, who splits her time between USA and Europe, has 11 tournament wins to her credit including the British Open in 2010 and four wins on the LPGA.

She played in the Solheim Cup with fellow European teammates Jodi Ewart-Shadoff (England), last year's top ranked Symetra Tour star, Madelene Sagstrom (Sweden), Emily Pederson (Denmark) and Mel Reid (England), who have also confirmed their entries.

American golfer Paula Creamer

American golfer Paula Creamer Photo: Supplied

Creamer is a 12-time winner who has amassed more than $16 million in prizemoney.

She claimed her Major at the US Women's Open in 2010 with her last win coming at the HSBC Women's Champions in 2014.

Kang, 24, won her first major with victory in the KPMG PGA Championship this year, pushing her one spot outside the top-10 in the world rankings.

And then there's the 20-year-old Ko, who was world number one for a remarkable 104 weeks and in her very short but meteoric rise in the sport, has already won 14 times including two Majors along with 60 top-10 LPGA finishes.

There are a further eight players who have won 29 times between them on the LPGA or European Ladies Tour.

"To have golfers who have won so many Major Championships between them is a testament to the quality of the field coming to New Zealand," said tournament director Michael Goldstein.

"To this you have a number of outstanding players who have won many times on either on the LPGA or the LET Tours.

There will be a final field of 132 players comprising the 90 confirmed players from the LPGA with a further 40 players to be confirmed with 15 to come from the Australian Ladies Professional Golf, 10 from New Zealand Golf and 17 Sponsor invites.