7 Sep 2017

Nicholls to lead NZ A on tour of India

1:30 pm on 7 September 2017

The Black Caps batsman Henry Nicholls will captain a New Zealand A on a seven game tour of India later this month.

The side will play two first class games and five one day matches against India A with former international fast bowler Shane Bond coaching the side.

Henry Nicholls.

Henry Nicholls. Photo: Photosport

There will be one change in the 15-man squad for the different formats, with Jeet Raval being replaced by Glenn Philips following the first class fixtures.

Thirteen members of the 16 strong touring party have played for the Black Caps previously.

The squad is:

Henry Nicholls (c) (Canterbury), Todd Astle (Canterbury), Tom Blundell (Wkt - Wellington), Tom Bruce (Central Districts), Lockie Ferguson (Auckland), Matt Henry (Canterbury), Scott Kuggeleijn (Northern Districts), Colin Munro (Auckland), Glenn Phillips (Auckland), Seth Rance (Central Districts), Jeet Raval (Auckland), Tim Seifert (Wkt Northern Districts), Ish Sodhi (Northern Districts), Sean Solia (Auckland), George Worker (Central Districts), Will Young (Central Districts)

Not considered due to injury were Doug Bracewell, Mark Craig, Kyle Jamieson, Ed Nuttall and Ben Wheeler

NZ A tour of India schedule

1st Four Day match - 23-26 September, Vijayawada

2nd Four Day match - 30 September-3 October, Vijayawada

1st One Day match - 6 October, Visakhapatnam

2nd One Day match - 8 October, Visakhapatnam

3rd One Day match - 10 October, Visakhapatnam

4th One Day match - 13 October, Visakhapatnam

5th One Day match - 15 October, Visakhapatnam