13 Mar 2010

Wildcats win record fifth A-NBL basketball title

6:31 am on 13 March 2010

The Perth Wildcats have defeated the Wollongong Hawks 96-72 in the deciding Game Three of the Australian National Basketball League Grand Final in Perth to win the championship series 2-1.

Perth are now the first team in NBL history ever to win five titles, having also previously won in 1990, 1991, 1995 and 2000.

For Wollongong, it was the second time they have finished as runners-up.

Kevin Lisch had a game-high 29 points for the 'Cats to clinch the Larry Sengstock Medal as the Grand Final Most Valuable Player.

Damian Martin added 17 for Perth and Stephen Weigh 13.

Glen Saville led Wollongong with 13 while Cameron Tragardh and Rhys Martin both have 12.

Perth won Game One 75-64 at in Perth last Friday night before a sell-out crowd of 4,497.

Wollongong bounced back to score a 75-63 win in Game Two before a capacity crowd of 5,786 in Wollongong and force the third game decider.