4 Mar 2010

Only 12 teams in F1 this year

3:58 pm on 4 March 2010

Formula One will have 12 teams this season, instead of a planned 13, after a late replacement for the USF1 entry was ruled out by the governing body.

The FIA said in a statement that USF1 had indicated that they will not be in a position to participate in the 2010 Formula One World Championship.

The decision ended the hopes of Serbian-backed Stefan GP, who were waiting in the wings to take the stricken American team's place at next week's season-opener in Bahrain.

The FIA said it would announce shortly details of a new selection process "to identify candidates to fill any vacancies existing at the start of the 2011 season."

Charlotte, North Carolina-based USF1 had planned to become Formula One's first all-American team in more than 40 years but struggled to raise funding during the worst economic downturn to hit America since the 1930s.