14 Dec 2015

Tuivasa-Sheck headlines Kiwis' POTY award

3:50 pm on 14 December 2015

Jesse Bromwich, Tohu Harris and Roger Tuivasa-Sheck have been nominated for 2015 Kiwis Rugby League Player of the Year.

New Zealand's Roger Tuivasa-Sheck makes a break.

New Zealand's Roger Tuivasa-Sheck makes a break. Photo: PHOTOSPORT

Bromwich, who plays in the front row for the Melbourne Storm, was nominated for his combined effort in the NRL this season as well as the Kiwis end of year tour in Great Britain.

Melbourne Storm teammate Tohu Harris also had a solid season in the NRL and played every minute of all four tests for the Kiwis this year.

Meanwhile Roger Tuivasa-Sheck was named Dally M Fullback of the Year, after switching to the #1 jersey for the Sydney Roosters.

Kiwis Rookie of the Year has come down to a contest between Jordan Kahu and Kodi Nikorima, both of Brisbane Broncos, and the Roosters' Siosiua Taukeiaho.

Sarina Fiso has a chance to add to two previous successes in the Women's Player of the Year category. She faces Counties Manukau team-mate Teuila Fotu-Moala and Akarana's Georgia Hale.

The full list of NZRL Awards finalists is:

Kiwis Player of the Year

Jesse Bromwich (Melbourne Storm), Tohu Harris (Melbourne Storm), Roger Tuivasa-Sheck (Sydney Roosters)

Kiwis Rookie of the Year

Jordan Kahu (Brisbane Broncos), Kodi Nikorima (Brisbane Broncos), SioSiua Taukeiaho (Sydney Roosters)

Women's Player of the Year

Sarina Fiso (Manurewa/Counties Manukau), Teuila Fotu-Moala (Otahuhu/Counties Manukau), Georgia Hale (Richmond/Akarana)

Junior Player of the Year

Nelson Asofa-Solomona (Melbourne Storm), Daniel Levi (Newcastle Knights), Tuimoala Lolohea (NZ Warriors)

Premier Player of the Year

Nick Read (Hamilton/WaiCoaBays/Upper Central), Matthew Sauni (Linwood/Canterbury/Southern), Raymond Talimalie (Mangere East/Counties Manukau)

18s Player of the Year

Tarquinn Alatipi (Porirua/Wellington), Rory Ferguson (Dunedin/Southern), Ata Hingano (NZ Warriors)

16s Player of the Year

Soane Hufanga (Richmond), Hayze Perham (Pikiao/WaiCoaBay/Upper Central), Josh Uta (Manurewa/Counties Manukau)

Match Official of the Year

Adam Burns (Christchurch/Southern), Anthony Elliot (Auckland/Akarana), Harry Lysaght (Manawatu/Mid Central)

Domestic Coach of the Year

Darrell Coad (Canterbury/Southern), Grant Pocklington (Auckland/Akarana), Rod Ratu (Counties Manaukau)

Grassroots Club of the Year

Glenfield RL (Auckland/Akarana), New Lynn Stags (Auckland/Akarana), Pacific Sharks (Tokoroa/Upper Central)

Male Volunteer of the Year

Marty Brown (Dargaville/Northland), Peter Butler (Manawatu/Mid Central), Simon Itula (Wainuiomata/Wellington)

Female Volunteer of the Year

Leanne Anderson (Nelson/Southern), Mere Davis (Waikato/Upper Central), Mel Mather (Canterbury/Southern), Jeanne O'Brien (Dannevirke/Mid Central)

Get the RNZ app

for ad-free news and current affairs

We have regular online commentary of local and international sport.