28 Apr 2015

Smeltz in A-League team of the decade

7:59 am on 28 April 2015

The All Whites striker Shane Smeltz has been named in the A-League team of the decade.

Selected by current and former A-League players, Smeltz is the only New Zealander in the team.

The Sydney FC striker Shane Smeltz scores a goal.

The Sydney FC striker Shane Smeltz scores a goal. Photo: PHOTOSPORT

He was named as one of 3 forwards along with Archie Thompson and Besart Berisha.

The voters were asked to select their starting 11 in a 4-3-3 formation, five substitutes, a coach and referee of the decade.

As voted by the players, the PFA A-League Team of the Decade is:

Goalkeeper: Eugene Galekovic

Defenders: Cassio, Kevin Muscat (C), Patrick Zwaanswijk, Ivan Franjic

Midfielders: Matt McKay, Carlos Hernandez, Thomas Broich

Forwards: Archie Thompson, Besart Berisha, Shane Smeltz

Substitutes: Michael Theo (GK), Adama Traore, Mark Milligan, Steve Corica, Alessandro Del Piero

Coach: Ange Postecoglou

Referee: Strebre Delovski

With players having to have played at least two seasons in the A-League to be eligible for selection, the team was voted on by over 400 former and current A-League players and contains three Johnny Warren Medal winners.

As the highest vote getting former or current club captain, Kevin Muscat was named as the skipper of the PFA A-League Team of the Decade.

Get the RNZ app

for ad-free news and current affairs

We have regular online commentary of local and international sport.