16 Nov 2014

McLaughlin wins as Whincup takes V8s title

10:03 am on 16 November 2014

The New Zealand V8 Supercars driver Scott McLaughlin won the first race at the Phillip Island event from pole position, as Jamie Whincup claimed a sixth championship.

Jamie Whincup in action at Phillip Island

Jamie Whincup in action at Phillip Island Photo: PHOTOSPORT

The Cantabrian guided his Volvo to his ninth pole of the season, going on to record a wire-to-wire victory.

Meanwhile Whincup stormed to victory from pole in the second race to confirm his record-equalling fourth-straight title, and stake his claim as the greatest V8 Supercars driver in history.

The Red Bull ace has an unassailable championship lead with four races to go, Whincup passing five-time champions Mark Skaife, Dick Johnson and Ian Geoghegan to stand alone at the pinnacle of the sport.