6 Nov 2014

No changes to Boks team

11:57 am on 6 November 2014

The Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer has named an unchanged starting XV from the side that beat the All Blacks last month for this weekend's game against Ireland in Dublin.

The only alteration to the matchday XXIII from the Johannesburg match is Coenie Oosthuizen replacing injured prop Marcel van der Merwe on the bench.

Handre Pollard scores

Handre Pollard scores Photo: PHOTOSPORT

Francois Hougaard remains at scrum-half with Fourie du Preez and Ruan Pienaar ruled out by injury.

South Africa handed New Zealand their first defeat in two years with a 27-25 Rugby Championship win in Johannesburg on October 5th.

Meyer says he's pleased to be able to select the same starting line-up for successive internationals.

He says it's only the fifth time in what will be the 34th Test since he was appointed as Springbok coach that he's been able to select an unchanged starting line-up.

Tendai Mtawarira on the charge

Tendai Mtawarira on the charge Photo: PHOTOSPORT

South Africa and Ireland have played each other 21 times since their inaugural game in 1906, with the Springboks winning 16, losing four and one match drawn.

In their last meeting in Dublin in November 2012, South Africa won 16-12.

Ireland's last success against the Springboks was a 15-10 win at Dublin's Croke Park in 2009, a match that took place while Lansdowne Road was being redeveloped.

Ireland coach Joe Schmidt is scheduled to name his side tomorrow.

After Ireland, South Africa have tour matches against England (Nov. 15), Italy (Nov. 22) and Wales (Nov. 29)

South Africa:

15-Willie le Roux; 14-Cornal Hendricks, 13-Jan Serfontein, 12-Jean de Villiers (captain), 11-Bryan Habana, 10-Handre Pollard, 9-Francois Hougaard, 8-Duane Vermeulen, 7-Teboho Mohoje, 6-Marcell Coetzee, 5-Victor Matfield, 4-Eben Etzebeth, 3-Jannie du Plessis, 2-Bismarck du Plessis, 1-Tendai Mtawarira

Replacements: 16-Adriaan Strauss, 17-Trevor Nyakane, 18-Coenie Oosthuizen, 19-Bakkies Botha, 20-Schalk Burger, 21-Cobus Reinach, 22-Pat Lambie, 23-JP Pietersen