31 Oct 2014

Small Tri squad named

11:36 am on 31 October 2014

Just four athletes have been named in the Triathlon New Zealand elite squad for 2015.

Andrea Hewitt, Nicky Samuels, Tony Dodds and Ryan Sissons have been named in the podium squad, while five others, Simone Ackermann, Sophie Corbidge, Elise Salt, Nicole van der Kaay and Sam Ward, have been named in a development squad.

Andrea Hewitt (L) and Nicky Samuels celebrate their podium finish at the World Championship Grand Final.

Andrea Hewitt (L) and Nicky Samuels celebrate their podium finish at the World Championship Grand Final. Photo: PHOTOSPORT

High Performance Director Graeme Maw says the smaller group of athletes allows for an intense focus on their campaigns as well as a continuation of the work being done with the next tier of developing athletes.

Maw says after a year of much change and learning for the High Performance Team, they're delighted to be supporting a focused group of athletes all who have demonstrated to be tracking on the pathway to the Rio and/or Tokyo Olympic Games.

The Squads will again be based at the sport's High Performance Centre in Cambridge, with the Development Squad living and training in Cambridge on a fulltime basis while the Podium Squad will split their time between Cambridge, their home bases and the time spent overseas preparing for and competing in ITU World Series events.

Tri NZ 2015 High Performance Squads

Podium Squad:

o Andrea Hewitt, Christchurch

o Nicky Samuels, Wanaka

o Tony Dodds, Wanaka

o Ryan Sissons, Auckland

Development Squad:

o Simone Ackermann, Whangarei

o Sophie Corbidge, Auckland

o Elise Salt, Auckland

o Nicole van der Kaay, Taupo

o Sam Ward, Auckland

National Talent Squad:

o Dan Hoy, Auckland - coach Nathan Richmond

o Tayler Reid, Gisborne - coach Stephen Sheldrake

o Kyle Smith, Taupo - coach Cameron Durno

o Fynn Thompson, Queenstown - coach Val Burke

o Trent Thorpe, Auckland - coach Bruce Hunter

o Liam Ward, Auckland - coach Brett Reid

o Ari Graham, Christchurch - coach Maria Hassan

o Jaimee Leader, Palmerston North - coach Sam Warriner

o Lizzie Stannard, Palmerston North - coach Will O'Connor

o Ainsley Thorpe, Auckland - coach Bruce Hunter