23 Jul 2014

NZ Golf team named

4:10 pm on 23 July 2014

Joshua Munn of Manawatu, Tae Koh of Manukau and Vaughan McCall of Gore will represent New Zealand at the 29th Eisenhower World Teams Golf Championship in Japan in September.

19-year-old Koh will make his debut for New Zealand. He made a name for himself in January when he became only the third New Zealand golfer to win the Australian Amateur Championship.

23-year-old Munn won the New Zealand Amateur title, while McCall won both the New Zealand Amateur and the New Zealand Stroke Play titles in 2012 and was New Zealand's top individual at the World Team Championship the same year.

The Eisenhower Trophy is a biennial world amateur team golf championship for men organised by the International Golf Federation.

It is a stroke play event where the best two scores from three players count toward the team's score for each round.

More than 70 countries from around the world will travel to Japan to contest the Eisenhower Trophy.

The USA won the 2012 Eisenhower to secure their 14th victory.

New Zealand is one of seven countries who have won the WATC trophy once alongside Japan, Canada, Sweden, Netherlands, Scotland and France.