17 Jul 2014

All Blacks Sevens fly out

1:15 pm on 17 July 2014

The New Zealand men's rugby sevens players have flown out of the country as their quest for a fifth consecutive Commonwealth Games gold medal begins in earnest.

The All Blacks Sevens head to the Netherlands for a pre-Games training camp. Their Glasgow tournament begins on Saturday, July the 26th (NZ time) with pool play against Canada, Scotland and Barbados.

Coach Sir Gordon Tietjens has shown faith in most of his World Series regulars, though the 12-strong team named for Glasgow includes three players who won gold in Delhi four years ago - captain DJ Forbes, Sherwin Stowers and Tim Mikkelson.

The squad also features the return of two former members in last year's World Cup winner Pita Ahki and Declan O'Donnell.

Missing the cut are the veterans Lote Raikabula and Tomasi Cama, though they've been named as travelling reserves. The pair will travel with the team to the Netherlands, but will return home if not required.

The team is:

Pita Ahki (North Harbour)

Scott Curry (Manawatu)

Sam Dickson (Canterbury)

DJ Forbes (captain) (Counties Manukau)

Bryce Heem (Tasman)

Akira Ioane (Auckland)

Gillies Kaka (Hawke's Bay)

Ben Lam (Auckland)

Tim Mikkelson (Waikato)

Declan O'Donnell (Waikato)

Sherwin Stowers (Counties Manukau)

Joe Webber (Waikato)