12 Jun 2014

Tuilagi moves to wing for England

11:00 am on 12 June 2014

England have made five changes to their starting line-up for Saturday's second Test against the All Blacks in Dunedin.

The coach, Stuart Lancaster, has restored his Six Nations centre combination of Billy Twelvetrees and Luther Burrell, with Manu Tuilagi moving to the right wing where he will mark Julian Savea.

Owen Farrell returns to start at first five-eighth with Freddie Burns moving to the bench, while Danny Care replaces Ben Youngs at halfback after recovering from a shoulder injury.

The New Zealand-born hooker Dylan Hartley comes into the reserves along with lock Courtney Lawes, the wing Chris Ashton and the loose forward Billy Vunipola.


15 Mike Brown (Harlequins, 27 caps)

14 Manusamoa Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers, 23 caps)

13 Luther Burrell (Northampton Saints, 5 caps)

12 Billy Twelvetrees (Gloucester Rugby, 13 caps)

11 Marland Yarde (London Irish, 3 caps)

10 Owen Farrell (Saracens, 24 caps)

9 Danny Care (Harlequins, 47 caps)

1 Joe Marler (Harlequins, 20 caps)

2 Rob Webber (Bath Rugby, 6 caps)

3 David Wilson (Bath Rugby, 35 caps)

4 Joe Launchbury (London Wasps, 20 caps)

5 Geoff Parling (Leicester Tigers, 20 caps)

6 Tom Wood (Northampton Saints, 28 caps)

7 Chris Robshaw (Harlequins, capt, 26 caps)

8 Ben Morgan (Gloucester Rugby, 21 caps)


16 Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints, 55 caps)

17 Matt Mullan (London Wasps, 3 caps)

18 Kieran Brookes (Newcastle, uncapped)

19 Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints, 30 caps)

20 Billy Vunipola (Saracens, 8 caps)

21 Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 36 caps)

22 Freddie Burns (Gloucester Rugby, 4 caps)

23 Chris Ashton (Saracens, 37 caps)