2 Jun 2014

Kolkata win IPL final

4:27 pm on 2 June 2014

Kolkata are the Indian Premier League cricket champions for 2014 after beating Punjab by three wickets in the final in Bangalore.

Batting first Punjab made a solid 199 for four off their 20 overs before Kolkata chased the target down with three balls to spare.

Punjab's Wriddhiman Saha top-scored with a blistering unbeaten 115 from just 55 balls but it wasn't enough to stop Kolkata from claiming the title.

The match didn't involve any New Zealanders.