27 May 2014

Initial New Zealand Comm Games sevens squad named

7:07 am on 27 May 2014

The New Zealand sevens coach Gordon Tietjens has named three Super Rugby players in his initial squad to prepare for July's Commonwealth Games in Glasgow.

The Crusaders utility back Adam Whitelock has been rewarded for his strong showings in the final two legs of the IRB World Sevens Series, as New Zealand successfully defended their overall title.

The 18-strong squad also includes the Highlanders wing Kurt Baker and Blues back Pita Ahki.

Both were members of the New Zealand team that won last year's Sevens World Cup in Russia, while Baker was also a member of the gold medal winning team at the 2008 Delhi Commonwealth Games.

The veteran duo of Tomasi Cama and Lote Raikabula have been re-called after missing the last two legs of the world series, with Tietjens claiming their experience will be invaluable in Glasgow.

The squad will assemble in Mount Maunganui next Tuesday for a four day training camp with a final team of 12 to be named the following week.

The team, plus two reserves will travel to Amsterdam in mid-July for a pre-Games training camp which will involve a game against the Netherlands sevens team.

The squad is:

Pita Ahki

Kurt Baker

Tomasi Cama

Scott Curry

Ambrose Curtis

Sam Dickson

DJ Forbes

Jack Goodhue

Bryce Heem

Akira Ioane

Gillies Kaka

Ben Lam

Tim Mikkelson

Declan O'Donnell

Lote Raikabula

Sherwin Stowers

Joe Webber

Adam Whitelock