21 May 2014

Maroons make one change

9:36 am on 21 May 2014

Sydney Roosters backrower Aidan Guerra is the only new face in Queensland rugby league coach Mal Meninga's 17-man squad named for next Wednesday's State of Origin opener against New South Wales at Brisbane's Suncorp Stadium.

Guerra replaces Brisbane Broncos Sam Thaiday, who's injured.

Queensland: Billy Slater, Brent Tate, Greg Inglis, Justin Hodges, Darius Boyd, Johnathan Thurston, Cooper Cronk, Matt Scott, Cameron Smith, Nate Myles, Chris McQueen, Matt Gillett, Corey Parker. Interchange: Daly Cherry-Evans, Aidan Guerra, Ben Te'o, Josh Papalii

18th man: Will Chambers

19th man: Jake Friend