18 May 2014

McLaughlin earns Volvo breakthrough win

7:31 am on 18 May 2014

The young New Zealand driver Scott McLaughlin is confident Volvo's breakthrough V8 Supercars win in Perth won't be their last this season.

McLaughlin's delivered the Swedish manufacturer their first championship victory in 28 years winning the weekend's opening sprint race.

Despite a poor start from pole position, McLaughlin fought his way back to stand atop the podium for the third time in his short career.

Not since 1986 has Volvo won a championship race, their last season in the category and the same year Robbie Francevic won the Australian touring car title in a 240T.

The 20-year-old McLaughlin has been one of the standout drivers in 2014 - his first season in V8 Supercars.

Before Saturday, he'd already claimed three podiums and as many poles in the new S60 - plus a non-championship triumph at the Australian Grand Prix.

His win overshadowed a comeback-of-sorts for Holden veteran Craig Lowndes, who took race two honours later in the day.

The victory equalled Mark Skaife's record for most wins at a single track at 15.

Lowndes crossed the line ahead of championship leader Mark Winterbottom and defending champion Jamie Whincup.

McLaughlin started from second on the grid but, after almost missing the start to fix a broken exhaust head, finished fourth.

Winterbottom now holds a comfortable 110-point buffer over Lowndes on the overall standings, with fellow New Zealander Fabian Coulthard in a Holden third.

A longer 200km race tody will cap off the round in Perth.